

OHIO SOCIETY OF ASSOCIATION PROFESSIONALS *Parameters for the R. THOMAS KING DISTINGUISHED SERVICE AWARD*



WHO WAS R. THOMAS KING

Thomas King was a 19-year member of the Ohio Society of Association Executives (now *Professionals*) and served as the organization's president in 1997. In his honor, the Thomas King Distinguished Service Award was created because of his commitment to OSAP.

The Thomas King Distinguished Service Award is intended to recognize an association executive who has shown special exemplary, and/or truly distinguished service to OSAP.

King began his career after graduating from Ohio University in 1970, with a degree in journalism. Upon graduation, King worked as the assistant executive director of the Ohio Manufactured Housing Association. King then moved on to work for the Ohio Trucking Association (OTA) as the director of governmental affairs in 1980. In 1992, hewas named OTA's executive vice president. He worked for OTA for 18 years.

Some of his accomplishments include actively helping to remove Ohio's third structure axle-mile in 1990. Also, with his direction, Ohio entered the International Registration Plan in 1990 and the International Fuel Tax Agreement in 1993.

Serving on the Drafting Committee for the Commercial Driver's License in Ohio and being a member of the Governor's Motor Carrier Advisory Committee were areas in which King was dedicated.

PAST AWARD RECIPIENTS OF THIS AWARD INCLUDE:

2000	William J. Costello Ohio Manufacturers Association	2007	Mary Anne Knapke, CAE Ohio Society of Association Executives
2001	Earnest Boyd Ohio Pharmacist Association	2009	David F. Bartosic Ohio Trucking Association
2002	J. Clarke Price, CAE The Ohio Society of CPAs	2012	Cathy Blackford, CAE Builders Exchange of Central Ohio
2003	K. Patrick Collins, CAE Ohio Small Local Exchange Camera Association	2013	Dan Dozer, CAE Retired
2004	Charles J. Blosser Ohio Restaurant Association	2014	Jack R. Advent, CAE Ohio Veterinary Medical Association
2005	Vincent J. Squillace, CAE Ohio Home Builders Association	2015	Nancy Rummel, CAE Nancy Rummel & Assoc.
		2017	Sharolene Wackman, CAE Ohio Society of Association Executives